14 new Odisha government colleges to offer B.Ed and M.Ed from 2016

To have adequate number of trained professionals and teachers in the state, Odisha will offer B.Ed and M.Ed courses at 14 colleges starting from the 2016-17 academic year, reports a daily

In a measure to meet the shortage of trained professionals and teachers in the state, the Odisha government has decided to offer B.Ed and M.Ed courses in 14 government-run colleges and seven state-run universities from 2016-17.

This announcement was made by the state higher education minister Pradeep Panigrahy. He told a daily, "The 14 institutions will be selected in such a way that at least one government college is located in each of the 13 undivided districts." He further added, "We need more MA (education)/M.Ed graduates because it is the basic qualification to become faculty members in education institutes."

According to government sources, the B.Ed and M.Ed courses will be offered in the self-financed mode. Currently, Odisha has 14 teacher training institutes (TTIs) that offer B.Ed and M.Ed courses with can intake of around 2,000 students. These TTIs also offer teacher training courses through distance mode.

According to a decision taken in a meeting presided over by higher education secretary Gagan Dhal, a select list of universities - Utkal, Berhampur, Sambalpur, Ravenshaw, FM, NOU and Srijagannth Sanskrit Vishvavidyalaya - will submit applications to the National Council of Teachers' Education to start B.Ed, integrated MA (Education) and integrated B.Ed/M.Ed courses.

These universities will open a postgraduate department of education which will receive grants from the University Grants Commission. The State Council of Educational Research and Training and Regional Institute of Education will develop a new curriculum for the two-year B.Ed/M.Ed because the current B.Ed/M.Ed courses are only one-year-long programmes.

Add new comment